The best meal of the day!

Bonjour everyone!

Today we are making VEGAN OMELETTES!  I know, exciting right?  They turned out so deliciously, I cannot wait to share the recipe with you.  I’ve made many a vegan scramble in my day, but never a vegan omelette, so it was really fun creating the recipe.  You will be surprised at how omelettey it looks.

Image

Julia has many omelette recipes, so there will be more in the future, but I decided to start with the most appetizing sounding one, Pipérade, or an open-faced omelette garnished with onions, peppers. tomatoes, and ham.  I was in the grocery store looking through the fake meats and none of them sounded appetizing to me, so I decided to forego the ham.  You can use a soy bacon or tempeh in it if you’d like, but it’s not necessary.  I wanted a nice light fresh vegomelettte for this first go.

Julia says pipérade is a Basque specialty.  Where is Basque, anyway?

Donc, c’est ici!

Image

Très beaux, non?

Image

Apparently the basque region spans southern France, all the way down through northern Spain.  Never heard of it before!  I should very much like to visit some day.

Alrighty, onto the cooking!  So, what does every vegan think of when it’s egg time?  Tofu, DUH.  (I would strongly recommend only purchasing organic tofu, as it’s become one of the most highly regulated, pesticide pumped, GMO crops out there.  Organic is not always a sure thing, but it’s definitely a better bet.)  And how do you make tofu more eggy?  NOOCH, DUH!  (Nooch = nutritional yeast if you’re unfamiliar.  I defined it thoroughly in my last post.  Don’t be off put by the gross name – it’s freaking delicious, and amazing for you.

I should say this recipe is not perfect yet, but I have many more omelettes to go.  I’ll perfect it yet.  It is REALLY delicious as it is, and I would definitely recommend making it – it would kill at a vegan brunch party!  Plus, it’s preeettyyyyy.

Pipérade (VEGAN! Serves 4)

Image

Up close tomato – eeeeewwwww!

WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

  • 1 package silken tofu
  • 4 TBSP nutritional yeast
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper (I used white pepper and it was delicious!)
  • 1 TBSP arrowroot powder (or cornstarch, if you don’t have arrowroot)
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 TBSP olive oil
  • 1/4 onion, diced
  • 1/2 bell pepper, diced
  • 1 clove garlic
  • Dash of cayenne pepper
  • 1/3 cup tomato, diced
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 4 TBSP olive oil

First, we will prepare the pipérade, which is the veggie mixture that lays on top of the omelette.

1.  Heat olive oil over medium heat.  Cook the onions and peppers slowly until they are tender but not browned (but every time Julia says this, I’m like… what does it matter?  It really doesn’t matter.)

Image

Image

2.  Stir in 1 clove diced garlic and cayenne pepper.  Cook for 1 minute.

3.  Lay the tomatoes over the onions and peppers, and cook slowly for 5 minutes.  Season to taste with salt and pepper and set aside.

Image

4.  Purée 2 cloves of garlic in food processor (Like I tell you every time, I use my Magic Bullet, and it really is MAGIC!  Get one!!!)

Image

5.  Add in entire block of tofu in and purée.

6.  Add in salt, pepper, and nutritional yeast and blend together.

7.  Add in arrowroot powder and blend until smooth.

Image

8.  Heat 1 TBSP olive oil over medium heat in a non-stick pan.

Image

9.  Take 1/4 cup tofu mixture at a time, and pour into heated pan.  Cook for 10 minutes.

Image

10.  (This is the tough part – because I haven’t perfected the recipe, it is not easy to flip over using your spatula, so you have to do one of those insane leap of faith flips.  I didn’t have enough courage, so mine ended up folded, and it’s supposed to be open-faced.  it works just as well!  Don’t be afraid, just take a break and FLIP!)  

Image

11.  Cook for 6 more minutes on other side, and transfer to a plate by sliding it off the pan.

12.  Lay 1/4 of the pipérade mixture over the omelette, and serve warm!  It’s SO YUMMY!

Image

I really hope you guys try this recipe, it’s delicious and so pretty. I promise I’ll perfect it so that you can flip with a spatula someday.  More experimenting to come!  Thank you so much for reading.

BONUS PHOTO:

Bunny shaped olive oil!

Image

2 thoughts on “The best meal of the day!

Leave a Reply

